Elevate — future leaders internal talent scheme

Ministry of Defence
4 min readNov 14, 2023

Elevate is a 24-month leadership development scheme for Higher Executive Officer (HEO) and Senior Executive Officer (SEO) colleagues who are aspiring to take on a management or leadership role in Defence. Elevate will help you to develop critically important skills to grow your leadership skills, style, and confidence to guide your team on complex projects, programmes, or service and through current or future challenges.

Simon Skerrit writes about his experience as an Elevate scheme member.

During the pandemic, I thought a lot about my development and what I wanted to get out of my role.

When I came across the advertisement of the Elevate scheme, it really struck a chord with me. I am passionate about working in Defence and when I saw that they were looking for future leaders in Defence I knew it would help me in reaching my goal of being promoted to Grade 7 and beyond.

Now, almost three years on, I’ve been on the Elevate programme for almost two years and it has really changed my mindset. It’s given me the confidence to develop a new version of me, one that wants to seek and seize opportunities rather than expect others to give them to me.

My journey so far…

Being one of only 30 members on the Elevate pilot scheme has made me feel special. It has given me the confidence to try new things outside my comfort zone, learn new skills and really challenge my own development.

I have had the opportunity to lead on the setup of a programme management office in partnership with Poland from day one. This has involved setting the requirement clearly from day one as to what the programme management office will deliver for both the UK and Poland. This has significantly developed my skills in thinking about not just what Defence needs but how I can strengthen the relationship with another international country through a programme management office that I am setting up from day one. It also gave me the confidence to identify, manage key stakeholders, create, and publish 2 network toolkits for the Defence Hearing and Visual Networks and work in a Director General private office.

I’ve also become an advocate for the Elevate programme and have been presenting the scheme to over 150 people across Defence. Something I would never have done before the scheme and has helped to significantly improve my presenting skills. I’m also leading an amazing group of ‘Elevaters’, to come up with excellent ideas that have shaped future development of the programme for tomorrow’s Defence leaders for years to come.

It’s also given me the opportunity to meet a fantastic mentor and coach. With their incredible support, it has helped transform my mindset into a more positive view of when I get promoted to Grade 7, not if.

What makes the Elevate scheme so special?

Elevate has helped me think about how I perceive myself, how others perceive me and how I can take control of my career to seek out opportunities to develop further. My favourite course was attending the leading change and emotional intelligence training, which really made me take a cold hard look at how I deliver my work in Defence and what I can do better. It made me think about how I adapt to change and how I can build trust with the people that I collaborate with. As a result, the courses have made me a more transparent leader that is keen on developing long term trust-based relationships. What you put in is what you get out.

I have also had the invaluable opportunity through Elevate to engage with an executive coach, who I am working with to help develop my skills in performing successfully at interviews. This is not only developing my ability to perform successfully at interviews but also my self-confidence as well.

Elevate also allowed me to tailor my development, picking and choosing from plenty of exciting exercises to get involved in on the programme to develop the skills I want before I graduate in June, and I’m looking forward to the next challenge.

Why should you consider applying for Elevate?

This scheme will give you opportunity to meet the wonderful people in Defence, who you would not normally meet, you will develop your confidence, have amazing opportunities to thrive and develop, learn new skills, create new experiences through shadowing, coaching, and mentoring and lots more.

The scheme is led by an amazing Elevate programme team, who are extremely passionate about making the programme the best that it can be.

If you are looking to develop your leadership skills, I would highly recommend you apply for the Elevate Scheme. The programme has supported me to focus on my goals and learn how to achieve them. I’m looking forward to the next steps in my career journey.

Unlisted

--

--

Ministry of Defence

DefenceHQ is the official corporate news channel of the UK Ministry of Defence.